Electronics > Beginners

Can someone help me build an amp?

(1/7) > >>

haglered:
I am a relatively inexperienced at building anything electronic but I have had some experience at it.

I would like to build a simple relatively low power amp (between 5 and 20 watts).

I need help in finding a simple but effective design. It needs to be made from parts I can get from Radio Shack or scrounge from old equipment (Like an old speaker I can get from a Thrift store.)

I need help in knowing what to look for.

I am a soundman and want to use this unit as a small portable amp for occasional outdoor use. It will need to be powered by batteries and accept 1 mic. So it will need to include a small pre amp for at least one mike.

I intend to amplify voice so the mid range is the important range to amplify.

I don't have much in the way of equipment. I have a radio shack iron and a few other tools.

Simon:
perhaps you can find a kit from radio shack ? otherwise there are many many audio amplifier IC's around that will do the job, just remember that wattage to some extent depends on voltage supply. Try the TDA2009 or TDA2035  (I may have got all of those wrong mind you it's a long time sice I used them and apparantrly they are out of date)

david77:
Maybe have a look around here: http://www.sound.westhost.com
I've used some of his circuits in the past with excellent results.

Do you need a stereo amp or would mono be enough, e.g. just for monitoring a sum from a mixer?

I agree with Simon, have a look at the TDA2009's datasheet http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheets/208/378193_DS.pdf
I'd suggest using the circuit shown in Fig. 16, that should give something like 8W power into 8Ohms, if
run from a lead acid 12V battery. You'd need that circuit twice for stereo, obviously.
If weight is not much of an issue you could use two lead acid batteries to increase the power output.

Then you'd only need to add a small preamp to use the thing with a microphone. Have a look at the link