Author Topic: Cap and resistor size for full wave rectifier learning circuit  (Read 3773 times)

Offline DougSpindlerTopic starter

• Super Contributor
I'm just learning how to read scope patterns by building half wave and full wave rectifier circuits.  (See the attacked pic)
I'm using a stepdown isolation transformer with an output of 24 vac.  (So as not to blow the scope.)

My question, what size cap should I use to reduce ripple?  Or can I use a range of caps?  Can you give me some values to try?
Should there be resistor on the positive rail to protect the cap from inrush current?  If so what size?

Thanks

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: Cap and resistor size for full wave rectifier learning circuit
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2021, 02:14:02 am »
It's a little more complicated than just picking a size.  It has to do with the load current as well.  Furthermore, there is also the complication that if the capacitor is too large, the diodes have a reduced conduction angle (because the capacitor voltage stays high, low ripple) and they have to pass all the power in a short period of time and coast the rest of the time.  This leads to overheating.

https://electronicbase.net/smoothing-capacitor-calculator/

Google for 'sizing rectifier filter capacitor'

Offline ledtester

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2021, 03:03:17 am »
My question, what size cap should I use to reduce ripple?  Or can I use a range of caps?

The purpose of a smoothing cap is to keep the voltage from the bridge above a certain level. For instance, the 7805 linear regulator needs an input of at least 7 volts to provide a regulated 5V output. A smoothing cap with enough capacitance will ensure that the input to the 7805 is always >= 7V. The required capacitance will depend on transformer's voltage and the current draw through the regulator. The calculator rstofer mentioned will tell you what the value needs to be.