Author Topic: CAT6 STP Ground Loop Input  (Read 637 times)

Offline clandersonTopic starter

CAT6 STP Ground Loop Input
« on: May 18, 2022, 10:44:42 pm »
I'm very eager to hear everybody's thoughts on an issue I'm working on. I work as a WISP engineer for a company who recently merged with a much larger company.

Our bread and butter involves one of two scenarios:
A.) Deploying equipment on a structure not designed to be host to such things and consequently is not conducive to protecting these sensitive devices.
B.) Deploying equipment on a structure designed specifically to host microwave equipment but which consequently introduces massive amounts of EMI/RFI.

The equipment I speak of consists mostly of several wireless radios at the top of a structure and an ethernet switch at the bottom. We've been having a monstrous amount of equipment failure surrounding scenario A lately, and I suspect it's due less from near or direct lightning strikes and more from static build up/discharge and ground voltage from improper grounding. More specifically potential differentials introduced through grounding loops.

Our microwave equipment topside is chassis-grounded to the tower (or grain leg, silo, pole, grain bin, etc.) which almost certainly has an incredibly high resistance path to earth. They then run CAT6 STP down to our enclosure which houses a switch. This switch is chassis grounded to the electrical earth ground (usually nothing more than a single solid #4). At the insistence of many different vendors, my company has always grounded both ends of our CAT6 STP. This is counter to my understanding of EE, which suggests this will do nothing more than create a ground loop, considering the other adjacent paths to ground.