Author Topic: Checking voltage on a board with a multimeter  (Read 5622 times)

Offline PcmakerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • N00bie!
Checking voltage on a board with a multimeter
« on: October 24, 2017, 11:20:42 pm »
Super easy question. Probably laughable to you guys.

On high voltage circuits, such as residential plugs, you put the red multimeter lead on the hot and the black lead into the neutral or ground to check the receptacle. However, I have little knowledge on how to do it on circuit boards.

On electronics with a 2 prong plug, without a ground on the plug:

If you have the board plugged in in front of you and you use a multimeter to check voltage, you put the red meter lead on the pin and the black on the neutral or ground. Is there a "ground" on these boards? Can you check AC and DC voltage by placing the red lead on a pin you want to check and black lead on the neutral mains coming in to the board? Or is there a specific spot on the board you put the black lead on?
New to the exciting world of electronics!

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
Re: Checking voltage on a board with a multimeter
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2017, 12:50:51 am »
Firstly, there will be people concerned that you might be probing around mains power without this fundamental knowledge.  I hope you don't - but if you do, I hope you are using a meter that is properly rated.  That is what the Cat ratings are all about.

Now ... on to the question.

The first thing you need to do is separate the idea of "ground" from your measurement thinking.  There is no fundamental need for a "ground" point anywhere in a circuit.  What you are calling a "ground" is actually a reference point.  The fact that it is connected to the soil under your feet is neither here nor there as far as voltage measurements on the circuit are concerned.