Author Topic: Clamping diode not quite working ???  (Read 2303 times)

Offline Mike JungTopic starter

• Contributor
Clamping diode not quite working ???
« on: March 23, 2021, 09:05:46 pm »
Hi guys ! I am new to this but want to learn.

I have an electromagnet powered with 24V and makes a spark each time I press the on/off switch. I read I must place a 1N4007 diode across it. I did that and the spark has become quite a bit smaller. But it did not go away completely.

What must I do to make it go away completely ?

Offline bob91343

• Super Contributor
Re: Clamping diode not quite working ???
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2021, 09:58:46 pm »
Do you have the diode polarity correct?  As for complete elimination of a spark, you must bring the current down gradually.  A capacitor may help.

The following users thanked this post: Mike Jung

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2021, 10:05:09 pm »
How much wiring length is between the switch, coil and supply?

And, what is the solenoid rating?

24V is in the regime where it may spark even if the current (or voltage peak) is relatively small.  This may be normal, acceptable behavior for a switch, but it depends on the switch type, and any spark is still evidence of electromagnetic interference, which may or may not be irritating.

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2021, 06:58:39 am »
The solenoid ( clutch actuator for a machine tool ) is 24V , 1A . The total length of wiring is 1m i.e. 2 wires 50cm each. I power the solenoid from an ordinary adj. voltage regulator - I think it's a 317(?) . The regulator failed a few times and was told is the "back emf" doing the deed.

Online Psi

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2021, 07:06:01 am »