Author Topic: Cleaning flux with Alcohol  (Read 3507 times)

Offline ManafontTopic starter

Cleaning flux with Alcohol
« on: May 11, 2022, 10:19:47 am »
Hi, first of all thank you in advance for sparing your precious time to read and/or reply to my question.

I am in the middle of changing some components on some of my old PC mouse & using some flux to help me do it.
After researching for a bit while I heard that I can use Isopropyl Alcohol to clean the flux leftover/residue from the PCB.
Since I'm fairly new to repairing, I have a few question regarding this.

1. How many percent of Isopropyl Alcohol solution is good to use ?  50%? 70%? 99%?
2. There's a capacitor on my mouse PCB, is it safe to clean the flux residue using Alcohol ? Like, it won't short the capacitor? One is elco type, one is smd type.

Online Gyro

• Super Contributor
Re: Cleaning flux with Alcohol
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2022, 11:35:49 am »
Welcome to the forum.

The highrt the concentration of IPA the better, the lower concentrations (rubbing alcohol?) tend to contain oils and other stuff, not just water. Electronics distributors normally stock 99%, you should also be able to find it on Amazon.

IPA is safe on most components, including Elcos, the only ones that don't like it are Polystyrene ones, but you're very unlikely to come across one of those.

One important thing to remember - IPA puts the flux into solution, you can't just apply it and let it dry. Mop it off with a tissue and re-apply if still sticky (and until the tissue no longer has brown stains). The other specific thing it to prevent the flux+IPA solution getting into the optical sensors, pivots etc. in the mouse and contaminating them with dried flux.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2022, 11:39:28 am by Gyro »
Best Regards, Chris

The following users thanked this post: RoGeorge, Manafont

Offline Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2022, 11:50:53 am »