Author Topic: Component video questions  (Read 12413 times)

Offline TRS-90Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Component video questions
« on: April 26, 2016, 05:10:51 pm »
I don't know if this is the right place for this, so if it is the wrong place forgive me.

Component video has a sync signal in one of the cables (sometimes the green one in case of the Playstation 2) and I was wondering if it was possible to separate the sync (or horizontal/vertical drive) signal from the color signal in whatever wire contains it.
I am trying to drive a CRT from a macintosh by reverse engineering the analog board but I need a way to drive the coils that make the electron beam move.
I can use the RGB signal from the cables I just need to make the image work instead of just being a dot on the screen.

I am a beginner in the electronics, I just have done some research on CRT technology but have found very little.
PCBF ANALOG BD LC520/LC575/MACTV 820-0582-A, The bane of my existance.

Offline stmdude

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Component video questions
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2016, 05:22:14 pm »
Have a look at the LM1881.  It's a "Video Sync Separator", so it might fit the bill. :)

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2016, 05:40:36 pm »
Thanks!  This just might solve my problem!

If it can work with a component signal instead of only composite then I can make it work.

Offline stmdude

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2016, 05:46:12 pm »
Should work fine on component as well, it's the same timing.  Just make sure to put it on the signal that actually has the sync.. :)

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2016, 05:55:47 pm »
Just got to make sure that I'm able to hook it up to the deflection coils.
I may need a transformer to boost the sync signal to make it drive the coils.

But the coil connector has 4 wires but this chip has only 2 sync related outputs.

I don't know how much of a problem that will be, but it should help anyway.