Author Topic: concerns about buying Owon SDS8102?  (Read 14733 times)

Offline rsqdivr

concerns about buying Owon SDS8102?
« on: July 30, 2011, 01:55:18 am »
Hi all!  Would you have any reservations about ordering/using one of the new Owon SDS8102 scopes?  I'm an EE student and confused by all the specs.  The brand history isn't as robust as others (Rigol, tek, etc.) but the memory depth and screen size are impressive.  I value your input.

Thanks

Offline Bored@Work

• Super Contributor
Re: concerns about buying Owon SDS8102?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2011, 07:59:13 am »
I'm an EE student and confused by all the specs

Then be a good EE student, and do what students are supposed to do: learn on your own what the specs mean. Especially since this is something which will help you in your subject and in your career as an EE. There is a lot of information on the Internet, you don't have to even visit your university's library. You can do it all from the comfort of your dorm.

I delete PMs unread. If you have something to say, say it in public.
For all else: Profile->[Modify Profile]Buddies/Ignore List->Edit Ignore List

alm

« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2011, 01:05:13 pm »
Hi all!  Would you have any reservations about ordering/using one of the new Owon SDS8102 scopes?

Of course I would! It's a brand new product, and very limited experiences have been posted. It could have all kinds of hidden defects that are not obvious from the specs (eg. bugs), or not even meet all specs. Owon's past products haven't exactly gave me confidence to buy their products sight unseen. It may be a fine product, but I'd wait for other people to take the gamble and test it.

Offline rsqdivr

« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2011, 05:01:36 pm »