Author Topic: Connecting my Siglent scope ground or not...  (Read 2060 times)

Offline syl20bouTopic starter

Connecting my Siglent scope ground or not...
« on: December 22, 2018, 02:36:55 pm »
Hi,

I studied electronics in 1980 and barely practiced since then, hence this beginner's question.

I recently watched an EEvblog Youtube video about the risk of connecting a scope probe ground to a device. I understand that the way the device relates to ground/earth has to be considered before connecting to it.

I used my new Siglent 1104x-e scope to diagnose a problem on a Frigidaire washer/dryer combo and was able to eliminate the possibility of my water level sensor to be in fault. I did so by powering the sensor alone on my bench and got a very clean square 45Hz PWM that varied as I changed the pressure in the tube (which it's supposed to do).

I measured the same pin in-circuit (inside the washer) to verify if the signal was getting to the main board properly but I did not dare connect the ground of my scope to the negative of the power supply, not knowing how it is related to the earth. The signal was present but very dirty. Now I wonder if it really is that dirty, which may explain the problem. For that, I guess I need a proper connection of the scope - i.e. with ground.

That's where I need help. I attached a picture of the board and want to get an opinion as to whether it is safe to connect my probe ground to the supply negative. I see two transformers on the board probably indicating that the supply is lifted from the ground.

What do you think? How can I validate if it's safe with my Fluke 83 first?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 22, 2018, 02:39:39 pm by syl20bou »

Online wraper

• Supporter
Re: Connecting my Siglent scope ground or not...
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2018, 02:42:40 pm »