Author Topic: Home Work Bench gear selection help  (Read 8700 times)

Offline CrytoneTopic starter

Home Work Bench gear selection help
« on: December 03, 2010, 10:40:44 pm »
I'm a 3rd year EE student and looking to improve my work bench at home to do more advanced design work and some general tinkering. I've been scouring the forum and Google for days but couldn't find all the answers I wanted.

I already own a few basics like breadboards, an Arduino, various resistors/caps/wires/etc and a cheapy DMM but figure it's time for upgrades since I'm going to want the gear for the future anyways and I really do enjoy working with electronics. I'm thinking I'm going to need 3 main upgrades: a DSO, a better DMM and a soldering station. I'm hoping to get gear that will serve me well and at hopefully good prices too, as I am still a student!

DSO: The Rigol DS1052E seems to be rather well regarded around here. I'm worried that if I order now I'll likely get the newer revision with the 2.05 firmware making the 100MHz 'hack' not currently possible. It seems like still a very good scope for the price even without the 'hack'. Is this a valid assumption or are there better options out there? I'd really prefer a DSO but will probably get an analog scope when I find one for a decent price locally.

DMM: I know Flukes are the way to go but the price is a bit offsetting. I've used Flukes many times- both when I was working and at school. I'm pretty much convinced I want an 87V but a little part of me keeps saying I could maybe get by with using say the UNI-T UT71C, which is only about $105 shipped. Or maybe there's a different DMM out there that would suit my needs better?