Author Topic: Connecting transformers in parallel question  (Read 2305 times)

Offline temetTopic starter

Connecting transformers in parallel question
« on: March 30, 2013, 07:09:59 pm »
I am a beginner, just trying to build my first proper project, a power supply for learning purposes. It will be a simple design with a couple of fixed output voltages. I have a couple of transformers that I got for buttons, from a market stall bin.

I was thinking about connecting them in parallel to give me more amps on the output. I know the transformers to work like this are supposed to be the same spec. These two are very close, but vary slightly. Both are 24 volts and 50Hz, physically they are almost identical, but one is 30VA Max and the other is 36VA Max.

What I'm asking is, will this work in practice?

Offline Nickk2057

• Regular Contributor
Re: Connecting transformers in parallel question
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2013, 10:50:16 pm »
not really.. the only thing that will happen is when you hook em up in the wrong polarity it will short out... or it will fizzle out and die... its kinda tricky to check which way the phase on that will be going.. meaning that of the waves that goes aound the transformer... and with the higher VA on them it might put higher load on the lower transformer and make it rise up on that.. making it get hot and die out faster.. just be sure that the voltage is the same and the amps as well...

Nickk2057
just keep believing in yourself.. you can do some remarkable things in your life when you break through the ice and make things happen with the stuff you make

Offline kxenos

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2013, 11:39:25 pm »
As this is for experimenting-testing purposes and has nothing to do with production, you can absolutely go for it. Nothing bad will happen. But as Nick meant, it's not a solution to be used permanently. But for testing-playing purposes IMO it's adequate.

Offline digsys

• Supporter
    • DIGSYS