Author Topic: Constant Current Load - Problems with simulation in LTSpice  (Read 13406 times)

Offline mnaevisTopic starter

Constant Current Load - Problems with simulation in LTSpice
« on: October 12, 2016, 09:19:00 pm »
I'm completely new to electronics and started watching Dave some weeks ago. I'm interested in building a CC load to test batteries with (end goal might be PC data logging).

I've read lots of those CC dummy load threads here and adjusted my circuit accordingly.
Because I want to know and learn what happens when I change some parts I started learning how to use LTSpice and simulate the circuits.
Now the problem arises:
Picture 1&2: You can see V2 varying from 1-5V and the current through R1 going up until V2 is ~4.2V. The potentiometer to the left is at 10% (so voltage at the + of first opamp is ~8V).
So the current depends on V2 and is not constant. Why?
I also attached the project file but you need the LM324 and potentiometer part http://ltwiki.org/?title=Components_Library_and_Circuits#A_Large_LTspice_Folder_from_Bordodynov.

Thank you

Offline 2N3055

• Super Contributor
Re: Constant Current Load - Problems with simulation in LTSpice
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2016, 09:45:46 pm »
On R1 you will have a voltage drop of 1V/1A on output...
On the noninverting input  you have 4V (8V divided by two).. That would be 4V over R1, plus a bit over mosfet....  Constant current sinks of this kind have a minimum compliance voltage.. This one has about 4-5V .. Try increasing V2 to go from 6 to 10 V and it should be ok...

R1 is usually much smaller, 0.001 to 0.1 Ohm per A, and drop is amplified before going to comparator amp... also ref voltage up to few volts..

All that would give much better minimum compliance voltage ( it can never be zero in this architecture), but you would need to use better opamps than LM324....

« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2016, 10:13:08 pm »
On R1 you will have a voltage drop of 1V/1A on output...