Author Topic: current draw and limitation  (Read 4310 times)

Offline manicool271989Topic starter

current draw and limitation
« on: November 13, 2010, 07:49:31 am »
Hey guys I'm new to this blog (well at least to the forums anyway) I just wanted to discuss something interesting a housemate of mine brought.

See I use a plug in dc converter to power my breadboard projects at various (6, 12) voltages. One day my housemate asks me if there is a limitation on the current that can run through my circuit projects because of the ac to dc adapter? I told him no there shouldn't be a limit and my reasoning was that since the adapter gives out a particular voltage and with the simple relation that V = IR you can ideally have from 0 to infinite amount of current going through the circuit. That's what I said, but I began to have second thoughts because I kept hearing current being drawn from a power supply during lectures at school. I kinda feel ashamed to be asking such a basic material question, but i really would like to know if my initial reasoning is right or not and clarification on what current draw means? (My guess would be that a load, such as a resistor, when connected in a circuit has some current going through it and that current is the current being drawn?)

Sorry if this is posted in the wrong place, but again this is my first time posting on the forums.

-manicool271989

Offline Feanor

• Regular Contributor
Re: current draw and limitation
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2010, 09:11:53 am »
You are on the right track. The load/resistance that you connect across the terminals of your voltage supply allows current to flow from one terminal to the other. This is the current drawn by the load.

So if you put a very low resistance between the terminals then you will get a very high current, from ohms law. I = V/R.

The current will never be infinate however, infact it will probably not be very high at all for two reasons.