Author Topic: DC power supply and DMM - advice and questions  (Read 242 times)

Offline lambacTopic starter

DC power supply and DMM - advice and questions
« on: April 23, 2024, 02:37:34 pm »
I'm a university chemistry researcher and my current project involves more electrical work than I am typically used to.

I need to purchase a DC power supply and a DMM, but am a bit lost in terms of options, capabilities and best practices.
Would anyone have any recommendations?

As this project is based around the building and testing of a bench-top system, the bosses suggested that I future-proof my power supply and DMM purchases.

My budget for a DC power supply and DMM are approximately €2000/$2100 USD/£1700, but there is a bit of flexibility here.
Both the DC power supply and DMM need to be able to connect to a computer for data logging.

At the moment I work under 30 V, (limited by the power supply) but in the future I could be running closer to 200-500V, or possibly more, depending on what the budget allows.

In terms of a DMM, something with multiple channels (at least 4) would be ideal.
Something like the Siglent SDM3055-SC looked promising, but when using the scanner card the voltage across each channel is 110 V max, rather than the 1000V from the front panel input. I also don't need 12 channels.
If a single DMM like this can't be found, I can always use multiple DMMs?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Offline jwet

• Frequent Contributor
Re: DC power supply and DMM - advice and questions
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2024, 02:51:44 pm »
I'll try to give some guidance.  These are actually pretty unusual requirements. 95% of power supplies are sub 30v and 99% of DMM's are single channel.  You didn't talk at all about your application or any detailed needs.  Future proofing can be lead to compromises and who know about the future.

Some Questions for you to ponder-