Author Topic: DC/DC converter with uC interface  (Read 3484 times)

Offline aixTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
DC/DC converter with uC interface
« on: May 05, 2019, 09:17:34 am »
I am a hobbyist working on a microcontroller project in which I’d like to control the speed of a 12V BLDC fan by varying its supply voltage (no PWM).

I’d like to power everything from a single 5V USB supply (with no Quick Charge etc = fixed at 5V).  This will ordinarily be a USB power bank, so I’d like to keep things reasonably efficient.  The power bank can supply 3A, though I don’t need anywhere near as much.  There’s no requirement to power from a computer USB port.

So in a nutshell, I have a 5V rail and I’d like to derive a variable 3V-12V supply with a reasonably convenient microcontroller interface (an I2C digital pot?)  If this drastically simplifies the design, I can forgo the step-down and just have 5V-12V.

In a steady state, the fan draws:
  • 25mA @ 3V
  • 52mA @ 5V
  • 172mA @ 12V

I also need to be able to switch the fan on and off (so maybe inrush currents need thinking about, given that the uC will sit on the same 5V rail?)

I can probably find an off-the-shelf DC/DC module that’s close to my needs.  But since this is mainly a learning exercise, I feel it would be more instructive to design something at the component level.

How would you tackle this?

I’ve been looking at MC34063A (and might still play with it to learn) but it seems that it’s not very efficient and there are better modern ICs.  I don’t know if there’s anything else about it that would outright disqualify it for my application.

Would love to hear your thoughts.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2019, 02:09:22 pm by aix »

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
Re: DC/DC converter with uC interface
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2019, 12:12:44 pm »
I also need to be able to switch the fan on and off (so maybe inrush currents need thinking about, given that the uC will sit on the same 5V rail?)