Author Topic: Desoldering tool Hakko 808 - Good idea for beginners?  (Read 6373 times)

Offline plungerTopic starter

• Contributor
Desoldering tool Hakko 808 - Good idea for beginners?
« on: January 05, 2012, 11:31:34 am »
I'm just starting out and I'm currently setting up my hobby lab.

I am getting the Hakko FX-888 soldering station but this Hakko 808 desoldering took looks like a good thing to have also.

It's simple to use. I do plan on getting a rework station after I get all the basics first. I am starting from scratch with the Hakko FX-888 this weekend and possibly the Hakko 808. I had a terrible time trying to desolder some capacitors with a cheap direct wall plugging soldering iron that I want to jump right in and buy this $170 desoldering unit  ;D

« Last Edit: January 05, 2012, 11:09:42 pm by plunger »

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
Re: Desoldering tool Hakko 808 - Good idea for beginners?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2012, 11:42:46 am »
Most people get on just fine with a manual desoldering tool so generally a powered one isn't needed.

But never having used a powered one myself I cant really say much about them.
They're probably quite handy on 6-8 layer pcbs where you need to keep the heat applied while sucking out the solder.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2012, 11:45:32 am by Psi »
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)

Offline saturation

• Super Contributor
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2012, 12:47:09 pm »
Its a good desoldering unit, made for industrial use and through hole parts, but it could be overkill for your current level of use.  A simple hand pump desoldering tool works well in the $5-10 range.  When you find its too slow for what you need, then you are ready to move up to a powered unit.
Best Wishes,

Saturation

Offline hacklordsniper

• Frequent Contributor
  • Don't turn it on, take it apart!
    • HackLordSniper
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2012, 03:17:50 pm »