Author Topic: Device says dead battery but individual Li-ion cells are still over 4 V.  (Read 853 times)

Offline raptorTopic starter

Hi, I am about to attempt to replace cells in a vacuum cleaner battery pack (7S 18650 Li-ion 2600 mAh cells). The battery goes dead after 1 to 3 minutes (with full suction power though). When I pulled the battery pack out, I measured the individual cells and they all read over 4 V (mostly 4.03, some 4.02, one reads 4.01). I would expect them to be depleted to at least 3.7 V if the device indicates dead battery and refuses to run the motor. Or I would expect one cell to be bad (and read low voltage). Maybe the BMS doesn't like something else about the cells. Or maybe the cells are OK and the BMS has broken?

As a beginner I might be missing something.
Thank you for any ideas and advice.

Philips PowerPro Aqua FC6409 vacuum cleaner

Here you can see some of the electronics (not my video):
https://youtu.be/CAh4RwBRqfk?t=136

Offline RoGeorge

• Super Contributor
Re: Device says dead battery but individual Li-ion cells are still over 4 V.
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2024, 05:18:27 pm »
Probably one or more cells can not deliver enough current, and their voltage drop under load.

Measure the voltage with some load attached to the battery pack.  Put a 10-20ohms/5W resistor in parallel with the voltmeter's probes to identify the weak cells.

The following users thanked this post: raptor

Offline Bud

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2024, 06:03:33 pm »