Author Topic: Different Ground Reference  (Read 1009 times)

Offline OlegkuskhovTopic starter

• Contributor
Different Ground Reference
« on: June 16, 2023, 06:36:40 am »
HI, im new in electronic world. I plan to make a Linear Power supply which the specification is 0-30 V  0-5 A  CV CC which i need for some circuit testing, because buying new one is rather expensive for me :'(. I have bunch of schematics lying arround and I decided to try this schematic from "The Post Apocalyptic Inventor". I attached the schematic below.

I have tons of question about this circuit, but not to be greedy, i will ask it one by one  ;D.

I've marked the main ground which in the schematic is represent by 'Strip line'  and the op amp ground which written as V03 ( a bit strange when He use V03 +5V and V03). I've heard about ground loop and notorius things about it. But my question is why do we need to separate the ground reference?. If so, why the voltage adjustment part where there's some voltage divider on it use the main GND and V03 at the same time?.

Last, i'm sorry for my english because i'm not from a country that speak english. Any advice or correction for me are extremely welcomed.

Offline ArdWar

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Different Ground Reference
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2023, 07:02:25 am »
Vo3 is actually "ground" referenced to the positive regulator output voltage (let's call it Vout from now on). It's done that way probably so that the whole control part of the circuit not needing a high voltage supply. It only need Vout+5, Vout, Vout-5 supply. Far more reasonable than 43V, 0V, -5V if it's common ground referenced to the regulated part of the circuit

edit: Made a quick sketch of the circuit's general idea. Pin 3 of RV1 should be to a voltage slightly higher than Vout, set by the 1K pot in your schematic.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2023, 07:23:52 am by ArdWar »

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2023, 09:15:14 am »