Author Topic: Dual power requirement on board  (Read 566 times)

Offline JohnSteinTopic starter

Dual power requirement on board
« on: May 10, 2021, 03:58:45 am »
Hi All,

I have been lurking around for quite a while and finally decided to take the step and start interacting.  I am new to electronics and have been learning for a while.  I studied basic electronics but that was 20 years ago.  I am fascinated with how things have changed.

I am designing a board that has a two different power requirements.  Some components on the board require 12v and some (MCU) 3.3v.  My input voltage would always be between 12v and 24v.

I have been designing a buck converter circuit for the board and currently my thinking is to use two step down converters (TP5430 (https://datasheet.lcsc.com/lcsc/1811081920_Texas-Instruments-TPS5430DDAR_C9864.pdf)).  The first converter will convert to 12V.  The output from the first converter can then be used on the board for the 12V components and the output also fed into the second TP5430 to convert down to 3.3v.

Is this an efficient design or is there another standard way of achieving this requirement maybe?

Would appreciate any help.

Offline bob91343

• Super Contributor
Re: Dual power requirement on board
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2021, 04:23:55 am »
If you could run the lower voltage from the source it would probably be more efficient, since the load current wouldn't pass through both converters.

The following users thanked this post: JohnStein

Offline tooki

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2021, 10:48:24 pm »