Author Topic: Electric Lawnmower Parts  (Read 2136 times)

Offline electromateriaTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Electric Lawnmower Parts
« on: July 12, 2021, 04:22:19 am »
Got a free electric lawnmower from a guy who was kindly giving it away on kijiji. He said: "the battery is dead and it can't be purchased anymore.. it's discontinued..."

:wtf: :palm: that sounds ridiculous, but I don't even know wtf's going on, I don't know anything cuz I'm a noob  :-DD I tell him I want to build a modded scooter for my nephew. We had small chat and I left. It's confusing to me cuz he just gave away a lawnmower that's 95% new. The blade looks near mint condition without even a dent.

Battery condition might be fixable, he says the battery wont charge but I think they're almost new and he just stored it on a discharge for 6 months. It has a decent little carrying case that shows battery level.

It's a super lightweight lawnmower and the motor is surprisingly small. I don't know much about DC motors and can't find any specs or info on this specific one.

If anyone could help with specs it I'd really appreciate that! Also any tips on what kind of a motor controller will work on it (if any) would help me out tons. There's a switch wired in that moves between "fast" and "silent" mode.

« Last Edit: July 12, 2021, 04:30:23 am by electromateria »

Offline BrokenYugo

• Super Contributor
Re: Electric Lawnmower Parts
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2021, 05:22:52 am »
Battery looks like a pair of 12v sealed lead acid batteries in series, if they won't take a charge they're probably toast. Lead-acid (big deep cycle storage batteries aside) is finicky like that, you use it or lose it and there's really no bringing one back short of shredding it and melting down the lead and plastic into a new one (which is what the battery factory does).

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2021, 05:39:08 am »