Author Topic: Electrolux Washing machine motor driver - Repair?  (Read 771 times)

Offline Formula400Topic starter

Electrolux Washing machine motor driver - Repair?
« on: June 06, 2022, 03:03:00 pm »
Just replaced a motor driver for a industrial size washing machine at work. I work as a janitor and had telephonic support from a service technician to identify the problem with this washer. Replacing the motor driver unit solved the problem with the machine. Btw - The washer initially displayed an error message indicating motor driver malfunction.
Just out of curiosity i have now had a closer look at the motor driver. Only obvious sign of damage is a heat damaged diode. See pic

I believe this is a Philips BZD142W based on the identifier number 12 on the SOD87. This is also supporter by the fact that the http://www.ic72.com/pdf_file/b/154774.pdf]ZenBlock application note [url]http://www.ic72.com/pdf_file/b/154774.pdf [/url] mention this:
The ZenBlock can be used in combination with off-line PWM
controllers.
The TNY254GN next to the damaged diode is in fact a PWM controller.

Any thoughts on the failure mode and is it possible to find parts to repair this? Should i just give this up or can a guy like me with just basic electronics and soldering skills fix this? ::)

Offline m k

• Super Contributor
Re: Electrolux Washing machine motor driver - Repair?
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2022, 07:53:11 pm »
I don't like what I'm seeing.
Heat around the diode is not the issue but pin 5 of the chip is also colored and zener voltage can be 200V.
My estimation for your success is low.
Advance-Aneng-Appa-AVO-Beckman-Data Tech-Fluke-General Radio-H. W. Sullivan-Heathkit-HP-Kaise-Kyoritsu-Leeds & Northrup-Mastech-REO-Simpson-Sinclair-Tektronix-Tokyo Rikosha-Triplett-YFE
(plus lesser brands from the work shop of the world)

Offline wraper

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2022, 07:57:13 pm »