Author Topic: Equipment setup for LED vf measurement  (Read 1332 times)

Offline clemenceTopic starter

Equipment setup for LED vf measurement
« on: September 26, 2017, 09:04:56 pm »
Hi guys,

I've been playing with LED for a while and now I'm getting deeper into LED measurements. I'm new to electronics and still learning. I'm still a newbie when it comes to find good equipment especially for electronic testing.
I need help to measure LED vf, with the following requirements:

- 10ms pulsed input or less. Non spike, flat regulated constant current 15A min. DC input.
- the measurement must has at least 3 decimal digits. For example: 3,215 V
- Voltage measurement range: 0,001 - 40,000 V
- logging/record feature.

What equipment/brand to start with?

Thanks,

Clemence

Offline danadak

• Super Contributor
  • Reactor Operator SSN-583, Retired EE
Re: Equipment setup for LED vf measurement
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2017, 10:10:08 pm »
Do you want the measurement of Vfwd during the pulse, instantaneous, or
an average of several pulses ?

A PSOC with DelSig coupled with S/H should do the job for either situation.

The attached partial solution. DAC controls current thru LED. Mux measures driven current
accurately, and then Vfwd. Could use DMA to automate process, including averaging a
number of samples. And of course display to show results. A MOSFET could ground the
LED until measure time so that the current source control loop is fully settled. MOSFET
timing driven by on chip timer..... PSOC 5LP family. A/D could run continuously or triggered
mode.

All of this onchip except Q_1 and R_1.

Regards, Dana.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2017, 10:13:29 pm by danadak »
Love Cypress PSOC, ATTiny, Bit Slice, OpAmps, Oscilloscopes, and Analog Gurus like Pease, Miller, Widlar, Dobkin, obsessed with being an engineer

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2017, 09:37:27 am »
Hi Dana,

Thanks for detailed response/diagram.