Author Topic: Oscilloscope Grounding Issues  (Read 10764 times)

Offline LegionTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Oscilloscope Grounding Issues
« on: February 20, 2014, 05:23:19 pm »
I've been having some trouble measuring circuits with my scope that are hooked up to my function generator. Since the scope and function generator are both earth grounded, I end up shorting my circuit to ground when I hook up my probes.

Do better function generators offer a floating output signal the way the DC lab power supplies give you the option of have a floating circuit or earth grounded? It seems to me that people would use function generators with oscilloscopes all the time, so having both grounded to earth is a big pain in the ass. Isolation transformers were suggested as a solution to me, but it's annoying to have to spend another couple hundred bucks when I've already spent over $2000 on equipment and I'm just learning basic DC circuits. Does this mean everyone has their scope or function generator hooked up to an isolation transformer? I'm wondering if I had bought something better than an Instek SFG-1013 if I wouldn't have to deal with this issue. Maybe a better one would have a switch to select earth ground or floating?

For the specific issue I'm having, see this thread: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/beginners/full-wave-bridge-rectifier/
« Last Edit: February 20, 2014, 06:29:43 pm by Legion »

Offline Thor-Arne

• Supporter
  • tinker - tinker, little noob.....
Re: Oscilloscope Grounding Issues
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2014, 05:57:31 pm »
The scope is supposed to be grounded, you are probably hooking up the ground clips to different potential. If both the signal gen and the scope is grounded, and you connect the grounding clips to the same potential it's all good.

And from the Agilent InfiniVision user guide: WARNING Always use a grounded power cord. Do not defeat the power cord ground.

I guess the same goes for your signal gen.