Author Topic: Flip Flop Toggle switch NE555 and CD4013  (Read 1241 times)

Offline JwillisTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Flip Flop Toggle switch NE555 and CD4013
« on: April 08, 2021, 05:52:04 am »
I'm just starting to learn about logic circuits .
I'm making a toggle switch with momentary push button for a project and I've run into a little problem with using the CD4013 .
Its really slow to turn on and off compared to the NE555 . The 555 only requires a tap of the momentary to switch between states and never fails .But the CD4013 requires a hold down on the momentary and sometimes won't switch states unless several presses are made.
I've tried different circuit designs and give the same results as the one I original settled on.
I know I'm doing something wrong but I can't figure it out . The CD4013 should be faster , shouldn't it?

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
Re: Flip Flop Toggle switch NE555 and CD4013
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2021, 09:09:54 am »
The CD4013 is fast, and that's your problem.

You'll learn a lot if you can attach a scope to the clock input and logic outputs, and see what really happens when you push the button.

I'm 99% sure the problem here is contact bounce at the switch.

The following users thanked this post: Jwillis

Offline Ian.M

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2021, 09:20:27 am »
You've just run head on into contact bounce aka switch bounce!  What you think is a single button press event is 'seen' by the circuit as many contact closure events.  The 555 circuit includes debouncing by design - C2 has to charge to the opposite 1/3:2/3 Vcc threshold via R2 before another switch closure can register.