Author Topic: function generator  (Read 1015 times)

Offline jude_elecTopic starter

function generator
« on: December 22, 2018, 12:38:47 am »
hello everyone, i am new to electronics and have received a lab assignment to evaluate an arbitrary function generator (GW instek mfg-2260 mra )
i am trying to evaluate it and see the benefits it has vs what is being used now (holzworth HSM1001A)
what i need from this device is to be able to produce a clean sine wave in 160 MHz to a circuit
i read the device data sheet and spec and tried to measure using my scope jitter and sine distortion of both of them also attenuation as frequency increases and compered to the spec, i wanted to know there are more thing i should do to compare the performence of this device?
i am not sure i fully understand the usage of trigger but i read about the trigger input option of this device and i wanted to know is there a way to use this input as a reference clock for the sine signal?
and also if anyone ever used this device before i would like to know how can i remote control with usb because the manual was not so helpful (or where can i read about it)
hope you could assist me.thank you.

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: function generator
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2018, 12:52:28 am »
As far as remotly controlling it, have a read on from page 250 in the manual,
https://www.gwinstek.com/en-global/products/downloadSeriesDownNew/5080/418

The trigger functions of a signal generator is generally used to either turn on or off the output, or change some characteristic of the output when the state changes, e.g. a really basic example would be you want it to generate a frequency whenever a signal goes high, and be off the moment it goes low, the trigger can be used to do that,