Author Topic: How many resistors does I2C needs?  (Read 742 times)

Offline chancsTopic starter

• Contributor
How many resistors does I2C needs?
« on: September 14, 2021, 02:16:52 pm »
I want to get some advices on long distance I2C communication. In my design, there are 3 PCBs, 1 x  Control Board and 2x Sensor/Actuator Boards and they are interconnected by FPC cable. Which one of the following is a better solution?

Daisy Chain
Control -----(150mm)----- S/A ---(100mm)--- S/A

Star connection
Control -----(150mm)----- S/A
           |----------(300mm)---------- S/A

Another question is that how many pullup resistors do I need? I2C Clock speed is 400KHZ, Sensor/Actuator Board is quite small (50mmx30mm), and each board has 3 IC that use I2C.
I am thinking one pair of 1K2 RES on each boad would be enough.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: How many resistors does I2C needs?
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2021, 03:35:11 pm »
I want to get some advices on long distance I2C communication. In my design, there are 3 PCBs, 1 x  Control Board and 2x Sensor/Actuator Boards and they are interconnected by FPC cable. Which one of the following is a better solution?

Daisy Chain
Control -----(150mm)----- S/A ---(100mm)--- S/A

Star connection
Control -----(150mm)----- S/A
           |----------(300mm)---------- S/A

Another question is that how many pullup resistors do I need? I2C Clock speed is 400KHZ, Sensor/Actuator Board is quite small (50mmx30mm), and each board has 3 IC that use I2C.
I am thinking one pair of 1K2 RES on each boad would be enough.

You only need one pullup on SCL and one pullup on SDA. Put them near your control (master) device. This way, if the FPCs get disconnected, when the master tries to access one of the devices, it won't get a response. If the bus pins float low then the master will be quite confused.

For 3.3 V systems the usual pullup is 2.2k.

Online Ian.M

• Super Contributor