Author Topic: Getting started with BGA reflow and reballing ...  (Read 44724 times)

Offline axeroTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Getting started with BGA reflow and reballing ...
« on: June 28, 2014, 11:59:46 am »
I have an Aoyue Int2703A+ soldering station combined with the Aoyue Int883 pre-heater and I want to reflow and reball the GPU chip on a laptop motherboard. I have read a few guides but there are still some questions that are still unresolved before I continue. I'm new to this and I've never done this before.

Quesion 1: What is recommended pre-heater temperature? The melting point of leaded solder is around 180°C and lead-free about 200°C, if I understand it correctly. How can I tell what alloy has been used? The laptop is an Asus, the motherboard was manufactured in 2007, most likely by Foxconn as that brand is mentioned on the motherboard. It has no RoHS or other markings that I can see that could potentially indicate that a lead-free soldering process has been used in the manufacturing.

Question 2: When I put the motherboard on the pre-heater, there are components on the back-side (facing the heating elements of the pre-heater), won't the solder melt and make these components fall off the PCB? Or will the surface-tension of the melted solder keep them in place anyway? Is there any measure I can take to prevent components from falling off the PCB?

Question 3: Can I put the entire motherboard as it is on the pre-heater or should I use some metal shroud that shields all parts of the motherboard but the surface underneath the GPU? Maybe that can damage the pre-heater? I suppose I could take a few layers of household aluminium foil and cut a square in it...