Author Topic: Guitar plugged into RTB 2004 Oscilloscope - frequency display questions  (Read 3755 times)

Offline javadesignerTopic starter

• Contributor
I plugged my electric tuning into the R&S RTB2004 oscilloscope (via 1/4" into BNC cable).

I'm playing just the low open A string for these experiments. This is tuned to 110 Hz (approx) in standard tuning.

What I would like to see is:

1) the frequency of whatever note I hit (in this case just the open A string - 110) in the frequency counter
2) When playing a chord, then all the constituent notes of the chord (via FFT).

This post is about case (1) and I'll make another post about my FFT experiment later.

A guitar note has a basic frequency and then a bunch of harmonics on top. The harmonics are always less in amplitude than the base frequency.

As a beginner, I assumed that if turn on frequency/cycle time, RTB2004 would somehow give me the right base frequency and ignore all the harmonics on top. As you can see from the first attached pic (labelled ONE.png), I get a wrong frequency displayed but the manual cursors do show the right frequency calculation.

Qs 1): is there a way to tell the oscilloscope to zero in to a "base" frequency and ignore harmonics ?

Secondly, why are there so many wildly fluctuating frequency calculations in the RTB2004 (don't know if this true for all scopes). The attached TWO.png shows a Trigger Level that is above all the harmonics but the frequency counter is showing 1.5 KHhz - about 15 times greater than the actual 110 Hz value. This value varies a lot further as I pluck the string. I also tried a trigger holdoff for a few seconds (after each pluck) but that did make anything more accurate.

Qs 2): Why is this wildly off frequency mis-calculation happening ?