Author Topic: Hakko FX888D - Not enough heat at tip? (...and how to repair old tips?)  (Read 2166 times)

Offline sofakngTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
I've been using a Hakko FX888D for a few years and I'd consider myself intermediate-level soldering skill, but when I use really fine-point tips (J-Tip [TR18-BR02] or Narrow-pitch soldering [T18-S4]), it seems like there is almost no heat at the tip.

Is this normal or is this improved with the newer T12-style tips?

Can I "upgrade" my FX888D with anything to help the heat transfer to the tip?

Also, how can I "repair" older tips that I might not have taken 100% care of?  (I always leave solder on the tips, etc, but sometimes they seem.... old?)

Online thm_w

• Super Contributor
  • Non-expert
Re: Hakko FX888D - Not enough heat at tip? (...and how to repair old tips?)
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2022, 11:41:33 pm »
This is normal. T12 may be a bit better. You'll see decent improvements moving to an induction type station (Metcal/Hakko).

But what temperature are you using, have you verified it with a thermocouple?

You can buy retinning solution or use fine sandpaper on the tip, but if the plating is worn through you are better off buying new tips.
Profile -> Modify profile -> Look and Layout ->  Don't show users' signatures

Offline Shock

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2022, 12:30:53 am »
If a tip is oxidized solder won't bond to it, this causes poor heating performance. The smaller the tip the less throughput there is (heat transfer to the pcb). So use tip rejuvenator/refresher to de-oxidize and apply fresh tin to the tip.

To prevent it occurring in the future replace dirty sponges and brass wool. Use only demineralized/distilled water on your sponge and keep it damp (not soaked) when cleaning the tip. If you have good brass wool it can help with cleaning as it has a scrubbing action.