Author Topic: Hands on part of my program next  (Read 4073 times)

Offline etstudentTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hands on part of my program next
« on: September 19, 2012, 10:48:45 pm »
I would like to thank everyone over the last few days for all the help, I really appreciate it.
Now I'm onto the hands on experiments part of my program. They give you a "Digital trainer", its kinda just a piece of electronic equipment that you do experiments on. Its got logic indicators, clock generators, DC power supple, logic switches and data switches and more. It came with a tone of electronic parts too, from capacitors to resistors to LED's. I have to admit its a bit intimidating. I have to read the books, do the experiments and then of course, take the exams, 3 in all. You guys ever hear of a "Digital trainer", and can I claim on my resume I have had some "hands-on" experience with this? Its a pretty cool piece of equipment, but just a bit as I said,  intimidating.

Offline Bored@Work

• Super Contributor
Re: Hands on part of my program next
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2012, 06:19:31 am »
You guys ever hear of a "Digital trainer",

Yes.

and can I claim on my resume I have had some "hands-on" experience with this?

Would you claim that you had some hands-on experience with a bike with training-wheels? Because such a kit is the equivalent of training wheels. You need them, but in the end you claim you can ride a bike, not that you had some experience with training wheels.

So the answer is, you can, but you shouldn't.

Its a pretty cool piece of equipment, but just a bit as I said,  intimidating.

Get used to it. Watch some of Dave's larger teardown videos. Much more stuff in serious electronics than in your training kit.
I delete PMs unread. If you have something to say, say it in public.
For all else: Profile->[Modify Profile]Buddies/Ignore List->Edit Ignore List

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2012, 11:19:35 am »