Author Topic: Need help getting an HP E3610A power supply working  (Read 8872 times)

Offline michael.hillTopic starter

• Supporter
Need help getting an HP E3610A power supply working
« on: May 30, 2013, 03:52:44 am »
I should preface this by saying I'm a complete electronics noob.  Dave got me interested into electronics, and I've got just a very basic lab (couple oscilloscopes, a cheap multimeter and a decent Weller soldering iron). I'm trying to build up my "arsenal" of stuff.

I bought an HP E3610A from a flea market being told it worked just fine.  When I got home, I heard a rattle inside.  I opened it up and there was mounting hardware for the bridge rectifier and the transformer was installed upside down.  It looked like someone had tried to fix it in the past, failed, and just threw it back together leaving it to be bought by me.  I'd really like to get this thing working.  I took some pictures.

I resoldered (painstakingly) the transformer back on to the PCB (the leads were clipped, but there was just enough to reach). I remounted the bridge rectifier and applied some thermal paste and attached the heatsink.  Tried turning it on, and nothing.

I (for some reason) unsoldered the transformer again to try to isolate it to check voltages...nothing.  I then checked the pin-out of the AC jack, and one of the wires wasn't connected to anything (brown stripe in first picture).  There was nothing connected to "hot" at all. This was weird because I saw dave's blog #166 with the same power supply, and the wires seemed to be soldered in the same locations.  Anyway, I thought it was possible when someone tried to fix the scope, they got another AC jack that fit, but in reality had a different pinout, so I soldered the wire to hot.  I plugged it in, hit the switch and my room browned out...I take it that's a bad thing (no, the transformer is not connected right now).  Anyone have any ideas?

• Supporter
Re: Need help getting an HP E3610A power supply working