Author Topic: have I blown up my scope tek 2246  (Read 6910 times)

Offline simusix

• Contributor
have I blown up my scope tek 2246
« on: March 29, 2013, 02:19:02 pm »
hi group.
Im new to this scope stuff, I was trying to measure voltage using voltmeter
fuction on scope and no matter how I set scope up I keep getting overv in
display where voltage should be?......any help appreciated.
regards simon :scared:

Offline GeoffS

• Supporter
Re: have I blown up my scope tek 2246
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2013, 02:22:49 pm »
A few details of what you're trying to measure and how, would help.

Offline simusix

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2013, 02:42:40 pm »
hi.
was following this on u tube

and applying it to my scope
at first it show voltage then I changed a menu to peak to peak reading and and not matter what buttons I press it comes up with -overv or overv,
cheers

Offline kfitch42

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2013, 03:13:19 pm »
0) Do you have a multimeter? Try measuring with that to check yourself.
1) What are you trying to measure? A 9V battery like in the video?
2) You might want to start by shorting the probe (connect ground lead to probe tip) and make sure you get 0V.
3) Have you mucked with the volts/div dial on the channel you are using? You probably want to start with the HIGHEST setting and only move lower if needed
4) What is the input coupling set to on the channel you are using (usually you can select AC, DC, or GND). You want DC for measuring a battery.

Offline simusix

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2013, 03:30:23 pm »

hi thanks for your help
I aslso reset back to factory settings

0) Do you have a multimeter? Try measuring with that to check yourself......   yes measures 8.2v
1) What are you trying to measure? A 9V battery like in the video?......... yes  it defelects beam up when connected to battery as video