Author Topic: PWM Fan Controller  (Read 9245 times)

Offline marcel.jTopic starter

PWM Fan Controller
« on: May 26, 2013, 08:10:14 pm »
Hi all,
I am new to Electronics. I want to control the speed my PC Fan and had no Idea how to do this. After a day of searching in the internet I crated this circuit.

This is the List of parts I would need:
Resistors
R1   Resistor 1 KOhm 1/4 Watt 5% Carbon Film    
R2   1 KOhm potentiometer
R3   Resistor 4.7 KOhm 1/4 Watt 5% Carbon Film    
Capacitors
C1   0.1 uF ceramic capacitor
C2   1 uF 16 Volts electrolytic capacitor
Integrated Circuits
IC1   555 Timer    
Diodes
D1   1N4148 Switching Diode    
D2   1N4148 Switching Diode    

If anyone could check this Circuit and make it more efficient I would be very grateful.
(sorry for my bad English)

All the best
Marcel
« Last Edit: May 31, 2013, 03:28:56 pm by marcel.j »

Offline M. András

• Super Contributor
Re: PWM Fan Controller
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2013, 08:16:32 pm »
why not use the motherboards pwm headers? btw the pinout for the pwm header gnd, +12v, +tach/rpm, pwm

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2013, 08:34:42 pm »
Thank you for the quick reply!
I need to control by my self and my Motherboard Pins are already occupied. 

Offline TonyPh

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2013, 09:59:43 am »
The attached circuit is useful for 4 pin PWM fans only. If you already have PWM on your motherboard then perhaps a PWM splitter cable would be of more use.

Offline ChrisGreece52

• Frequent Contributor
  • Electronics Engineer - Hacker - Nerd
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2013, 10:05:54 am »
If you need something manual with cables this is the way to go : simple and usefull
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LM317

« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2013, 02:10:15 pm »
An LM317 would regulate the Voltage would ´t it? But I want to regulate with PWM so the the Fan become more Quite.

Offline Paul Price

• Super Contributor
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2013, 03:35:12 pm »