Author Topic: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?  (Read 571 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nyame

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Country: cm
Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
 

Offline Kilrah

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1758
  • Country: ch
Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2018, 03:12:55 pm »
Maybe?
 

Offline perieanuo

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 293
  • Country: fr
Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2018, 05:08:02 pm »
Hi,what's an hmi?


Envoyé de mon iPad en utilisant Tapatalk
 

Offline dmills

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1673
Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2018, 07:12:13 pm »
Possibly, if the thing is trying to do a network boot via something like TFTP or NFS or such from a server in whatever it is controlling (fairly commonplace), but I would normally expect these to be in the same network.
Still if you did something like misconfigure the firewall to cause an address collision I don't see why not.

Wireshark can be very much your friend for debugging this kind of thing.

Regards, Dan.
 

Offline Kilrah

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1758
  • Country: ch
Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2018, 07:55:07 pm »
Hi,what's an hmi?
Human-Machine Interface. Industrial control panel.

But he gave zero info about what kind he has and his setup, so "maybe" is the best answer he can get.
 

Offline cdev

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5082
  • Country: 00
Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2018, 10:00:10 pm »
Maybe it looks for a server somewhere on the net to verify a licensing status?

"What the large print giveth, the small print taketh away."
 

Offline nyame

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Country: cm
Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2018, 05:47:14 am »
The HMI is AB panelview plus 600, (touch screen)
 

Offline perieanuo

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 293
  • Country: fr
Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2018, 08:07:23 am »
The HMI is AB panelview plus 600, (touch screen)
Hi,
I was looking, your device hasn't a firewall itself.So just disconnect the ethernet, restore power and that's your answer
imo, it's broken if after repowering from scratch without lan cable the device doesn't power up.
after, the job translates from IT to electronics :)
 

Offline perieanuo

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 293
  • Country: fr
Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2018, 08:09:28 am »
Hi,what's an hmi?
Human-Machine Interface. Industrial control panel.

But he gave zero info about what kind he has and his setup, so "maybe" is the best answer he can get.
tks,
i'm old school, I refere to this thing as PLC or automate or whatever, i'll try to review my vocabulary, tks
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf