Author Topic: Help! Total beginner- Just recieved my new UNI-T multimeter and I've killed it  (Read 29400 times)

Online Fraser

• Super Contributor
That last comment made me shiver... I know you may have been kidding but...........

Anyone who is not familiar with the workings of the Microwave oven..... PLEASE do not use it or it's parts in experiments unless/until you learn about the correct safety procedures and take precautions.

I still break into a sweat when working on RADAR magnetrons and Microwave Ovens PSU's. There are absolutely no second chances if you get across the transformer HT winding or smoothing capacitor. The HT will happily punch straight through a set of old (degraded)  or inadequate test leads and I am personally aware of two deaths in the UK as a result. If you get it wrong on the HT supply, you die, no maybe about it. The reason is simple.... microwave ovens power high energy magnetrons using HT voltages at deadly currents. The HT capacitor will store enormous amounts of energy (in terms of Joules) and, if allowed to, release it into a victims body tissues at HT voltage and unrestricted current...... your heart will beat no more. Remember, it is the current that actually kills .... you just need a high enough voltage to set up conduction.

For those reading this with knowledge of the voltages and currents inside a microwave oven you will already know the dangers, but I beg those without the knowledge to not experiment or tinker with these things internals.  

And finally.... Anyone who thinks 110V is 'safe' just check out the domestic accident electrocution figures for the USA.... 110V ac can still kill if across your chest (arm to arm). We don't mess around with the light weight stuff here in the UK, we go the whole hog and use 240V ac to ensure quality conduction through peoples bodies ! It's a form of natural selection....  Also known as the Darwin effect for which a victim may win one of the famous Darwin Awards.