Author Topic: Help finding a replacement for a BFN22 transitor for an oscilloscope  (Read 8125 times)

Offline tiltitTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hello everyone, this is my first post here.

I am in the process of fixing an Leader 1060 oscilloscope i bought on ebay. I have very little experience with these things so please indulge me. When I received the scope I found out that there was no trace on channel one, but channel 2 worked flawlessly so I decided to hang on to it. After opening it up I saw close to the input a burnt up 100 Ohm resistor. I replaced it but still no luck, I then used my multimeter to look at the resistance on that input and compared it to the same point on channel two. I read 2.6 k on the dead channel and 0 ohm on the working one. I then started probing various components close to the burnt up resistor and found what looks like a transistor (Marked HB) with the same 2.6k across it's collector and base. I did some research I discovered that it could be a BFN22 transistor that has a breakdown voltage of 250 Volts. I removed it and TADA  :), channel one is working again. Funny thing is, it seems as if the emitter of the transistor is not connected to anything. So I am left perplexed as to what it is for.

So my question is, should I replace it considering the scope works very well without and if yes can I have some SMBTA42 that also have a high breakdown voltage. I looked for the BNF22 and it quite hard to find in small quantities.

Thank you all.

Photo of the board with the transistor removed.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zj3xebhtcus685o/removed_transistor.jpg

Photo of the guilty transistor.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/98206e7sak1u1j7/dead_transistor.jpg

Photo of the burnt up resistor and it's replacement.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/a0j4pd0n57onqdw/_MG_2490.JPG

Photo of the scope displaying channel one before repair.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/c7pum9194j4jnhf/_MG_2485.JPG

BFN22 datasheet