Author Topic: Help to deal with ESD  (Read 909 times)

Offline alex.caloriTopic starter

Help to deal with ESD
« on: June 22, 2022, 01:48:50 pm »
Hi, Folks!

I'm a noob in designing electronic circuitry and I hope you guys can help me!

I'm facing an issue to deal with ESD!

My electronic circuit is a LED string powered by a switching integrated circuit (IC) that supports up 60V@1A and 500 V ESD.

I’m powering the circuit with 48 Vdc to feed 16 LEDs which sum about 46 Vdc at 700 mA. I’ve no problem to operate the system, LEDs work fine for a long time until I decide to put some stress.

For stress, I just manually unplug the power wire (48 Vdc) and plug it again – as you guys know, 48 Vdc generates a small electric arc (ESD) which is sufficient to breakdown my IC and ruin out the regulated current  :(.

So, in searching to find a solution, I found transient voltage suppressor (TVS) diodes as an option, but I do not know how to size (select) a proper device for my application. Also, I’m not sure if TVS will help me!

Please, help with!

Thanks a lot!   

Offline jeffjmr

• Regular Contributor
Re: Help to deal with ESD
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2022, 09:00:08 pm »
 :popcorn:

Interested in the answer myself.

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2022, 09:13:41 pm »
I think the problem is somewhere else in your design.
But as the circuit is secret, I can say no more.

Offline mclute0

• Regular Contributor
  • Somnium aut moriar!
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2022, 10:03:30 pm »
my silly mind would be looking at something like (no this one doesn't meet your voltage spec)

https://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/tps22965.pdf

since I am guessing it is not an ESD problem but an inrush problem...
« Last Edit: June 26, 2022, 10:08:57 pm by mclute0 »

The following users thanked this post: tooki

« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2022, 05:25:37 pm »
Hi, Benta!

I think there are no problem with the design- I guess.