Author Topic: Help with old CRT repair - Red colour predominant  (Read 820 times)

Offline munnazTopic starter

Help with old CRT repair - Red colour predominant
« on: March 31, 2019, 11:40:16 am »
Hey all,  I have been given an old CRT (Model: JVC 7295au) from a good friend to simply get a dvd player to connect to it so that he can play a slideshow at his wedding. It only has an RF input so I just used a modulator to get it up and running. I got it going, but after about 30 mins (and no interference) the screen went red and the picture became barely visible. This is persistent on every VHF and UHF channel, with or without the modulator plugged in.

I have a feeling it may be a capacitor gone bad but I am no expert and not sure if this issue can be caused by something else (I.e. the tube going bad)?

I am aware of the dangers of working on a CRT and am also capable of replacing capacitors, but that's about as much knowledge as I have.

In summary, my question is if anyone can point me in a direction as where to look for an issue or have heard of this issue occurring before? Also, if it may be a capacitor, which board should I start replacing capacitors on?

The wedding is in 3 weeks so I want to either try and fix it over the next few days or buy another.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Ps. dont have any photos at the moment and have not visually checked the capacitors (as it just came to mind) but can get some tomorrow if it may help diagnose.

Cheers!

Offline Whales

• Super Contributor
    • Halestrom
Re: Help with old CRT repair - Red colour predominant
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2019, 11:54:29 am »
Red predominant or red only?

It's worth checking the simple things like faulty adjustment wheels first (especially if you don't think the unit has any, they might be hiding under a flip-up panel or on an edge).

The R G & B guns are all separately controlled, but it sounds a bit odd for both the G & B to go simultaneously.

Offline Ian.M

• Super Contributor