Author Topic: Help with selecting new equipment - signal generator  (Read 1408 times)

Offline 妖怪女Topic starter

Help with selecting new equipment - signal generator
« on: December 05, 2021, 05:43:08 am »
I am new to electronics and I would like a signal generator that could perform a sweep that can be controlled by a jog dial. For instance I want to set the range from 1Hz to 20kHz and then use the dial to move back and forth along this frequency range - perhaps in a logarithmic interval or in a specified interval. A linear or fixed increment is okay though.

Is there such a thing? Is any of this a common feature of digital signal generators?

Optimally, I would like a generator that can do this and that I can mate to an oscilloscope and also generate bode plots, but this isn't necessary.

I was hoping to spend ~$200-$300USD for the generator, but I can spend more if needed.

Thank you for any help or suggestions!

Offline bob91343

• Super Contributor
Re: Help with selecting new equipment - signal generator
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2021, 06:31:08 am »
This is common.  You need a function generator or a sweep generator, sometimes called an AWG (arbitrary wave generator).  Most modern ones can do what you want; you needn't spend a whole lot.

Offline ledtester

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2021, 06:46:06 am »
You can get good function generators for < $200. Have a look at the FY6900, Uni-T UTG962 or the Juntek PSG9080. They have been widely discussed on this forum.

They all have the capability to perform automatic sweeps in either linear or log fashion. All of them use a rotary encoder to change values such as frequency, phase offset, etc. So you could perform a manual linear sweep with the rotary encoder. A manual log sweep is not directly supported. However, all of these units can be controlled from a computer (or microcontroller over a serial interface) so such a capability could be implemented with a little programming work on your part.