Author Topic: Help with tools  (Read 8234 times)

Offline fa2alityTopic starter

• Contributor
Help with tools
« on: December 22, 2011, 06:32:39 am »
I'm a computer technician by profession and I'm interested in expanding my expertise as I get a lot of dead motherboards. I want to start probing laptop motherboards, most of them are no power issues.

I was looking at Dave's review of Smart Tweezer and I'm wondering if that is better or a decent Fluke multimeter, if the later, which model?

Also I would like a good in circuit capacitor tester as I get a lot of dead power supplies (laptops and desktops) and I'd rather repair them by changing capacitors as I noticed the problem is usually bad capacitors. I was looking at this eBay auction: #190592707151 and wondered if it can handle desktop power supply capacitors?

Thanks in advance, your videos are worth their megabytes in gold.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2011, 06:34:28 am by fa2ality »

Offline samgab

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Help with tools
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2011, 07:12:11 am »
I'm pretty happy with the Fluke 87 V. I'd say it would be more than capable for your needs.
It measures capacitance reasonably well, with an accuracy of ± (1 % + 2 LSD).

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2011, 07:19:50 am »
Thanks for the fast reply
can i test them while in circuit?

Offline samgab

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2011, 07:42:22 am »
Thanks for the fast reply
can i test them while in circuit?

Hopefully someone more knowledgeable about this particular field will field this question.
I usually use my 87V to measure caps in circuit, and it has always worked for me,
but I don't know if there's a reason not to do that?

Online kripton2035

• Super Contributor
    • kripton2035 schematics repository
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2011, 07:45:14 am »
yes you need an esr (dcr) meter like the oneint the ebay link.