Author Topic: High Pitched Noise Coming From 2N5551 NPN Transistor  (Read 5462 times)

Offline mojobojo

• Contributor
High Pitched Noise Coming From 2N5551 NPN Transistor
« on: November 14, 2013, 06:10:26 am »
This is my first post so I figured I should say "Hi" first. I am a beginner to electrical engineering that has been lurking around the forums for a bit and finally made an account because I figured I could get an explanation to something strange I have encountered.

Today I came across a circuit called a "Joule Thief". I figured it was simple enough for me to try with little equipment I have so I thought I would give it a shot. After a bit of tinkering I had finally got, to my amazement, an LED running off of some near dead batteries (to make sure it was not just the batteries powering the LED I made sure that they could not power the LED first). The result being a lit up led and a high pitched screeching noise coming from my transistor. First thing I did was touch the transistor to make sure it was not heating up. It seemed fine so I tried adding a 1k resistor to the base and that seemed to suppress the high pitched noise.

What is causing the noise and is this damaging the transistor?

Here is my circuit. There are 10 winds per wire around the ferrite bead and I am running it off of 1v. If I had a scope I would have taken some waveforms as well.

Badly drawn schematic, pretty sure I drew it right.

« Last Edit: November 14, 2013, 06:12:18 am by mojobojo »

Offline madshaman

• Frequent Contributor
  • ego trans insani
High Pitched Noise Coming From 2N5551 NPN Transistor
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2013, 06:28:00 am »
You're positive the noise isn't coming from your coil?
To be responsible, but never to let fear stop the imagination.

Offline Dago

• Frequent Contributor
    • Electronics blog about whatever I happen to build!
Re: High Pitched Noise Coming From 2N5551 NPN Transistor
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2013, 06:34:22 am »