Author Topic: how a noob blew up his opamp  (Read 1943 times)

Offline amateur_25Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
how a noob blew up his opamp
« on: January 04, 2019, 09:45:38 am »
I understand in a voltage follower configuration the opamp basically tries to keep both of it's inputs the same.

I have check my soldering and used a multimeter to buzz out the connnections to ensure it's right according to the schematic.   So the tlc082 was powered from 5v but I did wire up 12v to it's minus input. Is there a limit as to how much voltage I can put on the inputs?

Online Fungus

• Super Contributor
Re: how a noob blew up his opamp
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2019, 10:01:02 am »
Is there a limit as to how much voltage I can put on the inputs?

Yes.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2019, 10:20:36 am »
The spec am looking at is the common mode input voltage?

God damn it am shit at electronics. I am not good at small details

Time to get my hammer out  :horse:

Offline mvs

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2019, 11:10:43 am »
Yes, but you have also violated input voltage in absolute maximum ratings section:

Vi Input voltage (2)(4)   max. +/- 15V
(2) All voltage values, except differential voltages, are with respect to the midpoint between VCC+ and VCC−
(4) The magnitude of the input voltage must never exceed the magnitude of the supply voltage or 15 V, whichever is less.

Online Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2019, 11:19:01 am »

In your case, Vdd is 5.0V so you can only apply between 0 and 5V to the inputs.

God damn it am shit at electronics. I am not good at small details

Recognizing that is a good start.

Offline Mechatrommer

• Super Contributor
  • reassessing directives...
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2019, 11:55:47 am »