Author Topic: How can I combine the two channels of a Waveform generator  (Read 2122 times)

Offline jerryjmcconnellTopic starter

Hi

I am taking a self paced course on practical electronics ( Only on the first couple of lessons so I am a total newbie)..the course, for those interested is:

http://www.thegreatcourses.com/courses/understanding-modern-electronics.html and it uses The Art of Electronics 3rd Ed. as a supplementary text book.   

I am trying to duplicate an experiment/exercise using a cap to filter a noisy sine wave.  I don't have all the expensive Agilent gear used on the videos but I have started a modest lab of my own to help facilitate the learning process.

So I do have a Siglent SDG1025 signal generator - I was thinking that on channel 1 I could generate a sine wave and on channel 2 output the built in 'noise' wave form ( there does not appear to be a way to combine them internally on this model)...and somehow feed that combined waveform (hopefully it would appear as a noisy sine wave) into my circuit.

I did search the forum a good bit (still  finding my way around) and saw some similar (but nothing identical) questions. I have a query into Siglent (but, or so I was told,  all the US tech support personnel are in Boston this week, a trade show I guess?) 

I am guessing putting a T on each output and cabling them in parallel  - might not be the correct way to do it - but I simply don't know enough to know for sure.  I have yet to start playing with the Siglent waveform generation software that came with the box - I am going to look into building a single noisy waveform - not sure if this is yet possible or not.

In the meantime - if anyone has any suggestions I would be more than happy to listen.

Thanks in advance.

Jerry

Offline jlmoon

• Supporter
  • If you fail the first time, keep trying!
Re: How can I combine the two channels of a Waveform generator
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2015, 06:57:27 pm »
Hello,