Author Topic: How good is this crystal oscillator design?  (Read 2426 times)

Offline amin08Topic starter

• Contributor
How good is this crystal oscillator design?
« on: November 04, 2017, 06:16:24 pm »
I'm designing an Atmega328P-AU based WiFi development board for my school project, and as you know, crystal oscillators may take some effort to layout, especially when we have a WiFi module. Any advice or suggestion is appreciated! ;)

Offline orolo

• Frequent Contributor
Re: How good is this crystal oscillator design?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2017, 06:48:52 pm »
I'm far from an expert in layout, but from your left cap to the right one there is a long, winding path around the crystal, enclosing a big area, so they hardly share a common ground. Maybe it would be better if you flipped both capacitors, taking the left trace out of the way, so their groundings are in close contact. Also, I don't know if this will decrease very much the parasitic capacitance, but you could leave a bit more clearance between the crystal pads and the ground plane; most probably this is not very important.

Edit: better yet, take a look at this app note. Flip and move up the left cap, making it jump over the right trace, placing both caps very near to MCU ground. Optimal.
« Last Edit: November 04, 2017, 07:34:07 pm by orolo »

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2017, 07:48:56 pm »
One tiny little sliver tying it to ground, no vias, no bottom side ground plane?

Layout around the crystal is highly overblown anyway.  If you don't have any way to measure a difference, then why bother doing a thing?

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

Offline amin08Topic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2017, 10:28:38 pm »
Just edited!
 Added ground plate  ;)

Offline basinstreetdesign