Author Topic: How old are you?  (Read 28533 times)

Offline Architect_1077Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
How old are you?
« on: May 01, 2012, 10:46:48 am »
Alright, so I'm a beginner at electronics currently living in Portugal. Now you're probably asking what the point of this topic is.
Well, first I'll give you some background on myself:

I was going through Dave's eevblog video episodes list and stumbled upon the video where he talks a bit about how he started in electronics. For a moment I felt like I was hearing a story about myself when he mentions how he used to take things apart around the house as a kid! Unbelievable! My parents couldn't give me anything with an electronic circuit in it, it wouldn't last more than 2 days! I just had to see how it worked! In fact, even today I can't resist doing it!
Unlike Dave however, I never really turned it into a serious hobby, let alone get into the field professionally. In fact, I had the bad luck of having parents that never really liked electronics, used to think there was no future in electronics, was too dangerous for a kid to play with, and so on, and so they completely derailed me from it. I actually became an Architect, of all things.

Well, I never really gave up on taking things apart and figuring out how they work, still love doing it and always will. However, as anyone up to speed on Portugal's economic situation will know, getting a job and making a decent living is VERY difficult over here. The fact that I have a higher education has not kept me immune to that fact. So, with the spare time I've had recently I decided it's time to get more serious about electronics, even if just as a hobby.

And, here I am... an electronics beginner at the age of... 31!

So I began to wonder... how many beginners are there at my age? How about it? How old are YOU? Any beginners here at a similar age to mine? Anyone older?

Offline olsenn

• Frequent Contributor
Re: How old are you?