Author Topic: How old are you?  (Read 28546 times)

Offline obiwanjacobi

• Frequent Contributor
  • What's this yippee-yayoh pin you talk about!?
    • Marctronix Blog
Re: How old are you?
« Reply #75 on: May 28, 2012, 12:17:05 pm »
44 (born in 1968)

Late 80's I got an electronics degree and after being drafted by the military (which wasted a year) I started with a 'electronics' job that lasted for 3 years. During that time I learned 68HC assembler language (was already fluent in Z80 assembler so that was simple) and picked up C and C++ programming.

Then I decided to continue in IT and abandoned electronics altogether. I even sold all my stuff - components and instruments (only held on to my multi-meter). in 95 I landed a job as a C++ Windows / Microsoft ((Tm)/(R)/(C) :-P ) developer and from then on I continued to be a developer. Today I am a lead developer /  Solutions Architect doing the Microsoft .NET dance.

Since a couple of months I am the proud owner of an Arduino Uno. I bought it work on an Idea I had (currently on  hold ;-) ) and since then have been getting one idea after the other. I am currently working on a Midi Mapper (processor) which needs some more software (as I go I'm also setting up a library for all to use).

I am spending my free time catching up to the current state of affairs (some things have progressed a lot), watching YouTube (were I found the EEVBlog) and checking a few forums now and again.
Arduino Template Library | Zalt Z80 Computer
Wrong code should not compile!

Offline T4P

• Super Contributor
    • T4P
« Reply #76 on: May 28, 2012, 01:55:01 pm »
I've read lots of your posts that suggest you're very knowledgeable so not taking anything away with the following statement:

Higher education is such an opportunity, unfortunately, there is no way for someone to understand its full potential until much later in life. Stick with it (do yourself a favor).