Author Topic: How to find projects most effectively?  (Read 1877 times)

Offline mistercrisTopic starter

• Contributor
How to find projects most effectively?
« on: March 13, 2017, 02:16:18 am »
Hi all.
I'm fairly new to electronics but have a little knowledge and am hoping to expand on it. I'm wanting to build a benchtop psu and through various internet searches ended up on the youtube for eevlog channel and eventually here to the forum.
It looks like I'm going to find all I'm looking for info wise here but I'm having issues actually SORTING through all this knowledge.
Can someone maybe offer a newb a bit of guidance on how to best way to search project and info?
I want to use a psu from a laptop and it needs to be super cheap and SAFE.
Every search I've tried just comes back with too many responses. Is there no depository of projects? Maybe something indexed?
Thanks!

Offline Hideki

• Frequent Contributor
Re: How to find projects most effectively?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2017, 09:27:35 am »
Every search I've tried just comes back with too many responses. Is there no depository of projects? Maybe something indexed?

Welcome to the internet. There is no single place to get everything -- it's spread all around the place. Some "depositories" may be larger than others, while many simply contain a single project. Many "projects" are not set up to be easily duplicated without quite a bit of time, effort and additional research.

Offline alexanderbrevig

• Frequent Contributor
  • Musician, developer and EE hobbyist
    • alexanderbrevig.com
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2017, 09:34:40 am »
Hi mistercris!

I usually search instructables, youtube, eevblog, github and politely ask google with as a precise search as I can muster. Usually I go the opposite direction.

For your project I'd recommend you do something like this: