Author Topic: How to model piezo buzzer using LTspice  (Read 1551 times)

Offline jj5Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Still learning about electronics...
    • In The Lab With Jay Jay
How to model piezo buzzer using LTspice
« on: April 18, 2024, 05:14:41 am »
Hi there. I'm just getting started with LTspice and I want to model a circuit which contains a piezo buzzer. My FNIRSI DSO-TC3 component tester tells me that my piezo buzzer is a 21.6nF capacitor, so could I just model the piezo buzzer as a capacitor? I did try to search for information about how to do this on the web, but I couldn't find anything which I could understand.

Offline jwet

• Frequent Contributor
Re: How to model piezo buzzer using LTspice
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2024, 02:56:13 pm »
That's a pretty good first order model and the C is certainly dominant.  A of E has some circuit example driving piezo's- kind of tough load.

These buzzers are resonant, so a better model would be a resonant LC at the peak output of the buzzer.  The C value would be you 21 nF (you read this at LF I'm guessing).  The L would be whatever resonates to create the peak response.  I would imagine the Q is about 10 so would inlcude a parallel R of whatever the peak reactance of the L or C is.

This is similar to the model of a quartz crystal or ceramic resonator.

The following users thanked this post: jj5

Offline jj5Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2024, 09:16:59 am »
Thanks for your help with this.

I found a datasheet for a similar component here: https://au.mouser.com/datasheet/2/1005/202005110dd2c-2325130.pdf

It lists the capacitance as 25nF, which stacks with my observations from my component tester. It also says the resonant frequency is 3.0 ± 0.5 KHz and the resonant impedance is 500 Ω (max).