Author Topic: How to test if I am grounded properly to work with electronics?  (Read 5362 times)

Offline SoulReaver009Topic starter

Hello people of "EEVBlog"!,
I am new to electronics. Been fascinated by it for a while, have studied physics (not Electricity, yet, but its my next unit). I got a multimeter and an Ardist DIY kit for my birthday and I am very excited to start testing, experimenting, and building!

I have been googling and youtubing a little bit, watching some reviews on my multimeter, and reading my manual and such.

For some reason I cannot find a video or webpage to test and confirm if I am properly grounded.

I can only work in my room, and it has carpet, so I am very nervous. I cannot work anywhere else, sadly.
I watched a youtube video that said to plug in a 3-prong laptop charger, and then connect the alligator clip of my ESD anti-static wrist strap to the outside metal part of the charger (the part that goes into the laptop).

Lots of people have commented that it works and i believe them. If you know other ways to ground, I would be interested. Would also be cool to test each method of grounding, and compare results.

Being the experimentalist that I am, I would like to have a procedure to test and confirm (as closely to absolutely, as possible) if I am indeed grounded, or at least within a safe range to "work with electronics". please forgive me if my terms or sayings are inaccurate or wrong. I am new to this!

Can't wait to hear back and get started!!

Offline jonpaul

• Super Contributor
Re: How to test if I am grounded properly to work with electronics?
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2023, 02:10:38 am »
Bonjour cher Monsieur

If,you restricted your first projects to low voltage, eg 5, 12, 15V battery or wall transformers powered, you have no issues with ground.

If,you build,mains powered or high voltage equipment then there is,a potential shock hazard.