Author Topic: I want to set up my own workbench. Advice needed for a complete newb.  (Read 4380 times)

Offline rdl

• Super Contributor
Re: I want to set up my own workbench. Advice needed for a complete newb.
« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2020, 03:31:30 am »
How about a folding table?

I agree. Put an ESD mat on top also. Works great.

Offline mossygreen

• Contributor
Re: I want to set up my own workbench. Advice needed for a complete
« Reply #26 on: April 19, 2020, 05:59:20 am »
My comments are those of a relatively new “newb” - i.e., someone that realizes they are a newb and is just forming longer term thoughts about their status as a newb. There is a lot of great advice on this forum, but for me some of the wisdom in that advice was only apparent in hindsight. I can’t contribute to that wisdom but may be able to help in sharing my learnings gained along the way.

W/r to the credo “buy what you need when you need it” - I think that’s good advice with some caveats. First, if you are on your own with nobody right there with you, then I think some form of signal generator in known working order is essential. If you don’t know what clean, near-perfect signals X, Y, and Z look like on your instrument (scope, DMM, etc.) - then how will you recognize them as you probe in-circuit? The absolute best part of “buy what you need” is that you’ll then learn how to use it much more effectively and retain that knowledge.